Michael J. Petrides Award Presented To Tottenville High School Student

Michael J. Petrides Award Presented To Tottenville High School Student

 Molly Ibrahim, a senior at Tottenville High School, received the Michael J. Petrides Award from members of the Petrides family and the Michael J. Petrides Award Scholarship Committee during a ceremony on Tuesday.


The annual award is given to a graduating high school senior who excels in math and science. Each Staten Island high school is asked to submit a single nominee from which the honoree and runner-up are selected. The award is named for Michael J. Petrides, a legendary Staten Island educator who died in 1994.


"This award highlights the young minds who have achieved a level of academic excellence that will lead them to exceptional college careers," Vito said. "It is an honor to present the Petrides Award to a remarkable Staten Island student. Congratulations to our winner and to all the impressive nominees."


Molly is a student in Tottenville High School's most rigorous and challenging Science Institute Program and holds the highest cumulative grade point average of 106.34%. She was recognized as an Advance Placement Scholar, the 2022 National African American Recognition Scholarship recipient, and the 2020 Mahragan El Keraza Diocese Winner.


Her activities at Tottenville are countless: She has been a member of the Varsity Cross Country and Track and Field teams, along with being the Student Organization's Senior Senator, member of the Literacy Advisory Council, New York City Youth Speaker, Borough Student Advisory Council, Minds Matter Mentee, Colors for Coats Program Coordinator, Coptic Orthodox Diocese, Youth Climate Action Coalition, Games of Change Game Exchange, Future Health Professionals, and participant in the 2022 American Mathematics Competition 12B. She will be attending Brown University in the fall where she plans to pursue her studies in the medical field.


Omosefe Noruwa from Curtis High School was named the second-place honoree and Anika Thakkar from St. Joseph Hill Academy was named the third-place honoree.


Here is the full list of nominees: Nathaniel Amshen, CSI High School for International Studies; Omosefe Noruwa, Curtis High School; Mennah Elnaggar, Gaynor McCown Expeditionary Learning School; Natalie Gulan, Michael J. Petrides School; Brian Gillen, Monsignor Farrell High School; Julia Guzman, Moore Catholic High School; Ceyda Topcu, New Dorp High School; Nadiya Crisano, Notre Dame Academy; Evan Randeniarachchi, Port Richmond High School; Anika Thakkar, St. Joseph Hill Academy; Joseph Dalton, Staten Island Academy; Tara Isabel Lago, Staten Island Technical High School; Benjamin Prince, Susan E. Wagner High School, and Molly Ibrahim, Tottenville High School; Susan E. Wagner High School, and Molly Ibrahim, Tottenville High School.